Install qcad on Centos 5

I spent some time today looking for CAD packages that work well on Linux.

I’ve used autocad before and it worked O.K. but took some getting used to. I was hoping for something that was similar but not necessarily as powerful – autocad-lite or similar.

After some searching and tossing out many would-be contenders I found that qcad was moderately well regarded – as opposed to almost every other free CAD package which were ‘in development’ or simply abysmal.

Determined to install it on Centos 5 I downloaded the community edition source codes (qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src) . The instructions that came with it were non-existent so I chose a basic approach.

Copy the downloaded file qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src.tar.gz to /usr/local/src

then

cd /usr/local/src
tar -xzf qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src.tar.gz
rm -f qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src.tar.gz
cd qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src

after a bit of poking around I found the scripts directory

cd scripts
./build_qcad.sh

This didn't work due to an error

error: ISO C++ does not support ‘long long’

A bit of searching and I discovered a simple fix

cd /usr/local/src/qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src/mkspecs
nano defs.pro

then comment out lines 2 and 3 thus

#QMAKE_CXXFLAGS_DEBUG += -pedantic
#QMAKE_CXXFLAGS += -pedantic

It seems that the -pedantic causes problems handling long long.

Re-running the build script

./build_qcad.sh

I get an error

sh: ./release_translations.sh: No such file or directory
Building qcad binary failed

More searching and another easy fix

./build_qcad.sh notrans

Finally it all built. But it wasn't integrated with gnome or kde. How to make this happen will be another journal entry. For now start a terminal session

cd /usr/local/src/qcad-2.0.5.0-1-community.src/qcad
./qcad&

And then the qcad program starts up. On initial inspection it seems to be O.K. with no malformed windows/text or obscure start messages. The real problem is how to use it. I am sure there are tutorials, but there is nothing intuitive in the program - unlike other graphics packages I have used.

More information later when I figure this guy out.

5 Responses to “Install qcad on Centos 5”

  1. Jose Says:

    For the long long issue you can alternatively add -Wno-long-long to lines 2 and 3. They will look something like:
    QMAKE_CXXFLAGS_DEBUG += -pedantic -Wno-long-long
    QMAKE_CXXFLAGS += -pedantic -Wno-long-long

  2. DavidW Says:

    Your explanation helped me tremendously. Thanks.

    I had to make one minor change to your procedure as follows.

    Instead of using “./build_qcad.sh -notrans”
    I had to use “./build_qcad.sh notrans” (no minus)

    Some other steps in the qcad README file were required.Specifically a couple of environment variables had to be set. These were noted in the README file.

    I installed on CentOS 5.

    I had to install “qt-devel-…” to get qmake and uic. See the README file.

  3. Pete Says:

    Thanks for this works fine on Slackware 12.2 but I also needed to use “./build_qcad.sh notrans” not “./build_qcad.sh -notrans”

  4. trunk service provider Says:

    I enjoy looking through a post that can make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  5. small business sip proxy Says:

    Hi there everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and paragraph is really fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

